Tyk API Gateway and API Management Login 24/7 Support Community

Glossary

Introduction

This page explains the terms that we use across the Tyk Cloud documentation, so that you can always be sure what we mean.

Account Terms

Account

The highest level container for one or more Organisations.

Organisation

The main entity for all your data (Environments, APIs, Users, etc). An Organisation is connected to a single region and once connected, cannot be changed.

Team

A sub-grouping within an Organisation.

User

A person who is a member of a Team with a set of permissions.

Role

A set of data and access permissions that can be applied to a user or team of users. See User Roles for more details.

Profile

The place that holds personal information for a user.

Subscription

A set of allowances assigned to an Organisation (made up of plan+addons+settings).

Plan

A portion of allowances (without add-ons) that feed into the main subscription.

Operations

The place to manage all deployments for an Organisation or Team.

Environment

A grouping of ‘deployments’ that can have multiple Control Planes and Edge Gateways.

Stack

The high level name for the set of configurations making up different types of deployments.

Control Plane

A deployment type: A single management layer for data in one region (where all the data lives).

Edge

A deployment type: Additional workers with varying functionality that are linked to the main control plane and can be deployed in a different region from the Control Plane.

Instance

Used to control traffic and scale in a Tyk Gateway.

Dashboard

The Tyk Analytics Dashboard to manage APIs and services.

Retirement

Where an Organisation has expired due to either a subscription failure or cancellation and is now within a “retirement” period of 30 days, during which an Billing Admin can reinstate full functionality by updating or creating a new subscription.

Action Terms

Deploy

Deploy a not yet deployed state (a first time deployment).

Undeploy

Temporarily remove a deployed status but keep all data and configuration.

Redeploy

Redeploy from a deployed state. Used for troubleshooting.

Destroy

Permenantly remove a deployment and all associated data and configurations.

Create

Date and time of time a deployment was initially created.

Add

Add a new ‘user’ or ‘team’ etc.

Remove

Remove things that have been added e.g. users and teams.

Update

Saving a change to a configuration.

Edit

Changing configuration or information on any of the deployments or other resources such as users or teams.

State Terms

Deployed

A deployment that is currently deployed.

Undeployed

A deployment that was deployed but has been undeployed.

Not Deployed

A deployment that has never been deployed.

Destroyed

A deployment that has been permenantly deleted and will not be visible in the operations console.

Unsuccessful

When there has been an error in the deployment process.

Deploying

When a deployment is being deployed.

Undeploying

When a deployment is being undeployed.

Roles and Permissions

See User Roles for more details

Super Administrator

Can do everything across all organisations

Organisation Admin

Can do everything within the scope of the one organisation they have access to.

Team Admin

Can do everything within the scope of the one team they have access to.

Team Member

Can only view and manage the overview, environments and deployments.